top of page
  • mishrabrittany

Day 26 Napowrimo

I have skipped quite a few days, but we have been busy with home improvement projects, family medical issues, and exhaustion. I'm glad I'm back on the page. I wrote this poem in response to today's prompt on napowrimo.net.


"Today, we’d like to challenge you to write a poem that involves alliteration, consonance, and assonance. Alliteration is the repetition of a particular consonant sound at the beginning of multiple words. Consonance is the repetition of consonant sounds elsewhere in multiple words, and assonance is the repetition of vowel sounds. Traci Brimhall’s poem “A Group of Moths” provides a great example of these poetic devices at work, with each line playing with different sounds that seem to move the poem along on a sonorous wave."


My Northern Light

 

I can tell you shame is throwing

up apple juice into the bitter

painkiller mask, all the doctors

masked and clothed in surgical

blue. the plastic film dividing

my upper torso from my belly

and legs. the tug and pull

of male doctors tearing

my skin into a mouth opening

into her. my baby from my body

who doesn’t belong, but

borrowed a ride bending time

while bending my belly

around the balance of air

and space. how borderless

I have become after I birthed

her from the edges of a blade.

what woman am I but the one

who loves and loves and wraps

myself as if I am a gift and inside

is a child a baby my aurora borealis.




 

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Saturday Morning Blues

Yesterday was 84 degrees and the sky so clear I could see three mountains at once: Adams, Hood, and St. Helens. Now, the clouds shade the...

コメント


bottom of page